Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Stained (YA Paranormal Romance) (Stained Series)

Stained (YA Paranormal Romance) (Stained Series) by Ella James

Historical Reviews

A Most Scandalous ProposalA Most Scandalous Proposal by Ashlyn Macnamara
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was the epitomy of Historical Romance. The scandal, the love, bravery and bravado. There was no down point to this book. I enjoyed the whole thing. The slightest touch of intimacy heats this story up just right. I look forward to more from this author.

Julia and Sophia are sisters, whom continue to turn down proposals from potential suitors.

But, one scandal after another has the girls pinned to men they don't feel they can marry. Can Benedict and Highgate help these woman see they are a perfect match for them?

Sunday, May 26, 2013

Beyond Shame

Beyond Shame by Kit Rocha

A dangerous world of sex, lust and violence...

All Noelle Cunningham has ever wanted is a life beyond--beyond the walls of Eden, where only the righteous are allowed to remain, and beyond her stiflingly restrictive existence as a councilman's daughter. But only ruins lie outside the City, remnants of a society destroyed by solar storms decades earlier.

The sectors surrounding Eden house the corrupt, the criminal--men like Jasper McCray, bootlegger and cage fighter. Jas clawed his way up from nothing to stand at the right hand of Sector Four's ruthless leader, and he'll defend the O'Kane gang with his life. But no fight ever prepared him for the exiled City girl who falls at his feet.

Her innocence is undeniable, but so is their intense sexual attraction, and soon they're crossing every boundary Noelle barely knew she had. But if she wants to belong to Jas, first she'll have to open herself to the gang, and to a world where passion is power, and freedom is found in submission.

Beyond Shame (Beyond, #1)Beyond Shame by Kit Rocha
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book is hot! It's all sex with sex on top and some more sex. Hot sex! Think 50 shades meets post apocalyptic world. Noelle is trying to figure out who she is and what she wants and Jasper wants to give it to her.. and he does. Over and over and .... you get the point.

But, the problem lies in the author. Repetitive, and pushing the shame issue, makes it hard to enjoy it. I started feeling shameful for liking the sex! I think some parts need to be fixed, then this would be a hot, amazing book.

View all my reviews

Thursday, May 23, 2013

Remembering Zane

Remembering Zane by J.S. Wilsoncroft

Second Edition. E-book, Novella, Write More Publications "Pocket Book." 
Synopsis: At ten years old, Bonnie Reese knew the minute she laid eyes on Zane Withers that he would forever have a place in her heart. After years of dating, then finally going their separate ways, Bonnie always dreamed that eventually they would find their way back back to each other. 
But those dreams were shattered, along with her heart, when she received the devastating news that her beloved Zane had been killed. As she faced her worst nightmare of going to his funeral, Bonnie runs into Zane’s best friend, Jonathan Wood. Little did she know, Jonathan had deep feelings for her since the seventh grade. Now that his best friend is gone, will Jonathan have the courage to tell her that he’s loved her since high school? Or will he keep his secret to himself forever? Will Bonnie let go and let love find her again?

Remembering ZaneRemembering Zane by J.S. Wilsoncroft
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is a sweet little story about love and loss. It's sweet and endearing. By sweet, I mean the sex is implied, there's nothing steamy. There's not really too much spectacular. Very little dramatic climax. It's basically, hey I love you, always have, oh hey, just realized I love you, let's get married. If you're looking for a quick joyful, happy ending ... read this! Looking for something with more action? Find something else.

View all my reviews

Beyond Fate

Beyond Fate by Jackie Weger

$3.99 Amazon

Overcoming the demons of the past is never easy, but when love works its magic, two lives are changed forever. 

Fletcher Maitland, perennial bachelor can't help himself. He falls in love with the beautiful new arrival in Big Mama's fish camp. All he asks for is a cup of coffee. What he gets is more ... much more.

Cleo Anderson lives her life in the shadow of her mother's sin. As Cleo responds to Fletcher the demons in her past rise to taunt her. She must choose between a life lived in shame or a future beyond fate.
Lust and love burn hot in this sweet, classic romance.

Beyond FateBeyond Fate by Jackie Weger
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book is deeply emotional. I was crying throughout the ending. It's quite the story of learning to love, moving beyond your past, and loss. I really got into to. Cleo is sweet, Fletcher is a cocky southern man. Big Mama was the funniest character and I loved her. My only problem is, it seemed to be too much. Was it a romance? A drama? A comedy? A mystery? I certainly feel that the escaped con was an unnecessary part, as it doesn't do much for the storyline and is just filler. It just didn't fit. Without the extra filler, this book would have been perfect.

View all my reviews

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

The Sweetest Dark

The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe


“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.” 

Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.

England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.

Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.

Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

The Sweetest Dark (The Sweetest Dark, #1)The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was quite the interesting book. It was slow to start. Took a while to find out what Lora was. But then it picks up and the transformation is amazing. Jesse was a great man, and anchored her very well. I love how sassy Lora is. She's spunky and doesn't put up with crap. From beginning to end, the story captures you and holds you in. Each page so full of something that you can't put it down. The one downfall, it seemed to go from first person to third and was a little annoying. But it really was a good read.

View all my reviews

Monday, May 20, 2013

A Woman Entangled (Blackshear Family)

A Woman Entangled (Blackshear Family) 

An ambitious beauty seeking a spot among the elite is thwarted by a most disruptive gentleman in Cecilia Grant’s witty, elegant, and exquisitely sensual novel.

Kate Westbrook has dreams far bigger than romance. Love won’t get her into London’s most consequential parties, nor prevent her sisters from being snubbed and looked down upon—all because their besotted father unadvisedly married an actress. But a noble husband for Kate would deliver a future most suited to the granddaughter of an earl. Armed with ingenuity, breathtaking beauty, and the help of an idle aunt with connections, Kate is poised to make her dreams come true. Unfortunately, a familiar face—albeit a maddeningly handsome one—appears bent on upsetting her scheme.

Implored by Kate’s worried father to fend off the rogues eager to exploit his daughter’s charms, Nick Blackshear has set aside the torch he’s carried for Kate in order to do right by his friend. Anyway, she made quite clear that his feelings were not returned—though policing her won’t abate Nick’s desire. Reckless passion leads to love’s awakening, but time is running out. Kate must see for herself that the charms of high society are nothing compared to the infinite sweet pleasures demanded by the heart.

A Woman Entangled (Blackshear Family, #3)A Woman Entangled by Cecilia Grant
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This book is long winded, drawn out and sounds more like a feminist rant than a romance. The characters are unlikable. Kate is a rotten, selfish, gold digger, looking only to heighten her ranks. Nick loves her, but allows Kate to step over him. He's boring. This book was just boring. I would never pay $7.99 for it.

View all my reviews

Kitchen Affairs (The Riverside Trilogy)

Kitchen Affairs (The Riverside Trilogy) 

Drake Stagliano is a high maintenance man from a wealthy empire family in Chicago. He managers The Riverside Hotel/Restaurant where he only expects the absolute best. With a past filled with being used and heartbreak, the last thing he expects is to find a woman he can't control himself around... a chef intern.

Molly Woods is not your typical 23 year old. She's in her last semester of culinary school and interning at Drake's restaurant. She's closed dating off her list - her only priorities are finishing school & her 4 year old daughter. When Molly is pursued by Drake, she does everything she can to deny the chemistry and sexual tension. However, that doesn't last long & she finds herself completely mad over him.

When an intimate video goes public, Molly's internship and credibility is threatened. She's lusts for the one man she's been able to connect with after the sudden death of her late fiancé - but can Drake hold on for the emotional ride? Molly will need to let go of her past in order let Drake in. Fall in love with this steamy, funny, & romantic story of two people who find each other just when they both need someone the most.

Kitchen Affairs (Riverside Trilogy #1)Kitchen Affairs by Brooke Cumberland
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I'm torn. I really wanted to like this book, but it's hard. I love that there's conflict, and you're up and down on the emotional scale. The plot seems like it could be amazing... Rich Drake sweeps Molly off her feet, loves her daughter, what single mom wouldn't like that? But, several times I found myself backtracking because I couldn't figure out who or what was being mentioned. Like, when Drake was in the cooler with Molly, she just says he. No name, and I re read it like 5 times before I figured out what was going on.
The flashbacks of Molly and Liam seem to just "appear" and don't feel right being placed in the center of a chapter or scene.

Molly is dumb, I don't like her. She has a rich, hot, horny man, who she introduces to her daughter, but flirts and kisses Travis? Then, claims to have not realized he wanted to be more than friends?! Come on, are there men that dumb as to believe that? There's some steam in the book. Great build up to the sex, but even that seemed over before it started.
I think with a little tweaking, this could be a 5 star book. But as it sits, it left me confused and wondering if I'll waste my time and money on the next one in the series. The plot is like a base, to soup, but the author watered it down so much, now it's only broth. Put some good meat in there, and thicken it up, add some flavor.

View all my reviews

Lover Be Mine: A Legendary Lovers Novel

Lover Be Mine: A Legendary Lovers Novel 

Title Release Date:
May 28th
Preorder Paperback now:
As the wickedly seductive Wilde cousins seek true love by taking a page from history’s legendary love stories, Lord Jack Wilde plays a determined Romeo courting an enchanting Juliet.

The last thing Sophie Fortin expects at a masquerade ball is a dazzling kiss from a pirate. Her desire quickly falters when she learns that her masked gentleman is devilishly scandalous Lord Jack, a member of the captivating Wilde clan—and a man she’s forbidden to acknowledge. But when Jack begins a breathtaking seduction, Sophie can barely resist.

Jack never imagined that the daughter of his family’s mortal enemy would awaken such fierce passion within him—until one unforgettable kiss changes his mind forever. Soon, Jack is hell-bent on winning Sophie’s hand, going so far as to abduct her to save her from marrying a rival nobleman. Determined to woo Sophie and her unyielding parents, Jack is faced with the one decision he’d sworn never to make. The secret heir to a prince, Jack has spurned his royal heritage for years . . . but for Sophie he’ll risk all to turn a legacy of heartbreak into love ever after.

Lover Be Mine (Legendary Lovers, #2)Lover Be Mine by Nicole Jordan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a good read! Sophie and Jack are amazing, and it's not love at first sight, they really grow on each other. You can see that transformation as the book goes on. I enjoyed Skye and Katherine. Such in depth side cast made the story all the more complete. Between chasing personal demons, and family saga, this is sure to please the historical romance crowd. It's loose base on Romeo and Juliet is quite the alternative plot, and well done. My only negative, it's so drawn out. There was too much 'inner dialogue' and thinking with the characters. Often times repetitive.

View all my reviews

Low scoring Reviews

OOPS! I'M THE PAPARAZZI (Romance, Humour & Mischief)
An Irish ex-boyfriend, a
New York newspaper editor,
a movie star, and a Hollywood agent - 
the men in Phred's life cause her nothing but trouble.
So the last thing she needs is to become one of the paparazzi.

When Dublin newspaper journalist, Phred, is dumped by her Irish boyfriend, Finbar, she runs off to New York to make a fresh start. She ends up working as a journalist for a newspaper in Manhattan.

Set in a snowy November in New York, Phred's world is filled with romance, humour and excitement involving her attractive newspaper editor, Royce, gorgeous movie star, Bradley Goldsilver, and handsome Hollywood agent, Vaughn.

Royce sends Phred out one night to a New York movie premiere. Phred is a journalist, not a photographer, but Royce wants her to go. 

Her assignment is to glean a candid shot of movie star, Bradley Goldsilver, at his latest movie premiere. No mean feat. Especially as every other big burly paparazzo with their eye on the money is vying for the same.

Phred, a reluctant paparazzo, does something outrageously out of character to get the photograph she needs - and ends up in the headlines herself.

Phred gives a whole new perspective to the world of the paparazzi.

OOPS! I'm the PaparazziOOPS! I'm the Paparazzi by De-ann Black
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The book was a cute idea, but there definitely needs to be some work. The writing is slow in some parts, too fast in others. Things just seem to happen, but don't make sense. The whole story pretty much drags on and on and doesn't make sense. The main character is hard to like. No one likes a know it all who magically gets everything in life she wants. Things are not easily relatable and I found myself rolling my eyes and skipping pages. I just don't think it's very well written.

View all my reviews

Bootscootin' Blahniks (The Bootscootin' Books)

Manhattan apparel designer Roxy Rae Vaughn, who's also a still-in-the-closet, country line dancing queen, wants to be a fashion success story. Tired of being nothing more than a Fifth Avenue up-and-comer, thanks to her elitist parents, Roxy moves to Nashville, Tennessee and opens a boutique in a local tractor supply store, the only retail space she can afford. Short on cash and way, way down on luck, she rear-ends a pick-up truck belonging to a tomato-growin', bootscootin' cowboy who is anything but the perfect fit for her career plans, although he is her ideal dance partner. Can Roxy accept that her best fit is on the dance floor moving to her own style and her cowboy's lead?

Tomato farmer by day and bootscootin' instructor by night Zayne McDonald doesn't give a damn about winning Nashville's heirloom tomato contest, even though his late father did. Zayne wants to honor his father, but what he really wants is to line dance his way to a winner's spotlight. When he and Roxy are discovered by a huge dance show producer, Zayne learns it's partnering with Roxy that's his winning hybrid mix. That is, if he can keep her and the tomato contest away from Beefsteak Jack Baudlin, the toughest tomato man in CMT country.

Bootscootin' Blahniks (The Bootscootin' Books #1)Bootscootin' Blahniks by D.D. Scott
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The word Bootscootin may be in the title, but is used entirely way too much! It's a cute story, but definitely too much detail in areas it doesn't need it. It seems to skip over things or bounce around. Roxy is 35 going on 16. She talks about stepping away from her parents money, yet lives in a paid for home. The author needs some good editing to take place here. There's not really paragraphs. The sentences just sort of mash together. My advice to the author, get someone to edit and proof read your work before publishing. You have a great idea for a book here, but it needs to be refined. My advice to the reader, wait and see if it gets rewritten and don't waste your time. The way it is, it's not worth the read.

View all my reviews

Saturday, May 18, 2013

Deep Autumn Heat: A Loveswept Contemporary Romance

Deep Autumn Heat: A Loveswept Contemporary Romance 

In this sexy new Star Harbor romance series, featuring the too-tempting Grayson brothers, a celebrity chef turns up the heat for a local café owner—and things start to sizzle.

Lexie Meyers decides there’s nothing sweeter than watching Sebastian Grayson’s perfect, wicked mouth devour her coconut cake. He’s hot, he’s hungry, and he’s sizing her up like she’s the best thing on the menu. But she’s been burned in the past and flings just aren’t her thing. Too bad Sebastian can’t resist a challenge. 

Worldly, famous, and notorious with the ladies, Seb had planned a weekend of fishing and relaxation with his brothers. Until Lexie, with her kissable lips and frosty “get lost” attitude, makes him want to forget his culinary empire and create some magic with her. After he fires up his charm—including challenging her to a televised cook-off to break through her resistance—it’s now hotter in the bedroom than it is in the kitchen and Lexie isn’t sure whether she’s lost her mind . . . or just her heart.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as excerpts from these Loveswept titles: Here Comes the Bride, The Wedding Chase, and About Last Night.

Deep Autumn Heat (Star Harbor, #1)Deep Autumn Heat by Elisabeth Barrett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a great book. I couldn't put it down. I love the dynamic between Sebastian and Lexie. The book is full of twists and turns that keep you enthralled. You can't help but fall in love with each of the Grayson brothers and I'm eagerly anticipating the rest of the series. This heart warming love story has it all. Action, drama and lots of heat, just as promised in the title!

View all my reviews

Friday, May 17, 2013

Outlaw Lawman (The Marshals of Maverick County) by Deloris Fossen

Outlaw Lawman (The Marshals of Maverick County)

Releases on July 1st

In Maverick County, he was the law

When Caitlyn Barnes unexpectedly shows up at his ranch, Texas marshal Harlan McKinney has no idea his ex-lover is trailing a heaping pile of danger. The death threats against the investigative journalist are just the tip of the iceberg. Soon Caitlyn and Harlan are on the run out of Maverick County.

Enmeshed in a web of escalating violence, they know their only hope of surviving is to trust each other. But Harlan doesn't know if he can trust himself—and the feelings Caitlyn is awakening. With the noose tightening, tracked by a killer who's always one step ahead, Harlan is blindsided by an explosive secret from the past—and a passion that's even more dangerous.…

Outlaw LawmanOutlaw Lawman by Delores Fossen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was quite the story. Full of twists and turns. Plenty of chemistry and back history of Harlan and Caitlyn. The only negative thing I have to say, is the end. It was so rushed that it was completely anti-climactic. Like, this whole great mystery romance that kept building and building, to just be let down on the last page by something so quick. I would have loved to see a little bit more there. But all in all, was a good read. I rather enjoyed it.

View all my reviews

The Seduction of Emily by Rachel Brimble

The Seduction of Emily 

Amazon $1.99

Seduction is a wicked game, and no one plays it better than the devilish Will Samson in Rachel Brimble’s captivating new novel…
Since girlhood, Emily Darson has accepted that she will marry Nicholas, the son of her father’s trusted business partner. The marriage contract safeguards her family legacy, Emily’s fortune, and everything she values—except her independence. Only when a sinfully handsome scoundrel enters her life does Emily realize quite how much a loveless match will cost her.
Will Samson has advanced from expert pickpocket to confidence trickster of the highest caliber. Now he has come to Bath to exact vengeance on the man who destroyed his mother—the man Emily will soon marry. But from his first glimpse of the enemy’s bewitching, spirited fiancée, Will’s plan changes.
Amid the ballrooms and salons of elegant society, heated glances explode into scandalous kisses. Revenge is sweet, but surrender will be irresistible…

The Seduction of EmilyThe Seduction of Emily by Rachel Brimble
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The idea of the story is good. But, it moves so slow and is quite repetitive that it drags the whole feel of the book down. There are some editing issues. (at least in the review copy I got) I really wanted to like this book. The whole plot seemed great, and refreshing compared to most Historical romances. The story didn't surround the Ton or some rich heiress. But it definitely falls short. It wasn't a horrible read, just too slow.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Love and Relativity by Rachael Wade

My Review of Love and Relativity by Rachael Wade

Love and Relativity by Rachael Wade
99 cents on amazon

Love, life, and happily ever after? It’s all relative.

Marine biology student Emma Pierce lives in paradise—geographically speaking, anyway. Stranded on Sanibel Island, Florida, she works at a nursing home by day and spends her nights dodging the island's infamous bad boy, Jackson Taylor, at her favorite karaoke bar. Trying to heal from the loss of her sister and a failed relationship she rerouted her life for, she's ready to graduate and finally leave Florida behind.

When a run-in with Jackson and his rowdy crew goes sour at the bar one night, sparks fly and irreversible damage is done. It’s no secret that Jackson loves to get underneath her skin, but this time he's gone too far. Now all he wants is to earn her forgiveness before she's gone for good, but their ideas of closure—and the future—are enough to keep them worlds apart.

Love and RelativityLove and Relativity by Rachael Wade
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was an interesting story, but I was really into it. All the whiny why me from Emma started to grate on my nerves and if any man ever treated me the way Jackson did, I can't see me ever forgiving them. No one player will fall in love and change over night. What started out as a great story took a massive down fall towards the third part of the book. It dragged on, and each love scene took pages to get through, even I got bored, and I like the smutty parts of books. If you're looking for a feel good love story, this isn't it, it's a harsh reality (if you can even call it that). I didn't fully hate this, but I'm not in love with it. The only thing saving this book is the back up characters. Emma and Jackson I could have done without. I love that Whit is a loyal friend. Carter sounds hot. I love the complexity that each character brings to the story.

View all my reviews

Monday, May 13, 2013

Reviews for 5/13

Reviews for 5/13

Amazon $0.99

Demon Dolan Ciar exists on three simple words: desire, denial, and destruction. Every four years, he is allowed one night of earthly passion to punish a deserving female. By the time he is finished, his victims are left as willing receptacles for demons yet to come.
Since she was four, a demon has been the only constant in Leora Desmond's life. He taught her how to seize control, to never give up, and to take whatever she wanted. At twenty-four, her self-centered existence is focused on one thing. She wants Dolan, and she won't be dissuaded.
A mistake brought Dolan to Leora. A promise bound him to her. Returning once again to ask for his freedom, he is faced with Leora demanding to be his next conquest. The ultimate retribution would be to take from her the ultimate symbol of her selfishness.
Now, Dolan must decide if he can doom her to life in living hell or face his own set of unearthly consequences, while Leora must choose between her pleasure and her heart.
The Promise blurs the line between good and evil, desire and love, and promises and commitment.

The PromiseThe Promise by Kim Carmichael
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

There's nothing bad I can say about a Kim Carmichael book. Whether short or long, they grab my attention and won't let go. This one, even I fell in love with Dolan. Even I wanted to be tortured by him! MMMM.. Way to go! Yet another amazing story to leave me begging for more. I wish it were longer, and there was more to the characters, but that's just me being greedy and not wanting it to end!

View all my reviews