Monday, July 11, 2016

Highland Awakening: A Highland Knights Novel

Highland Awakening: A Highland Knights Novel by Jennifer Haymore 



For fans of Maya Banks, Monica McCarty, and Sabrina Jeffries, the Highland Knights series continues as a tight-knit band of Scottish mercenaries make trouble on the mean streets of London . . . and under the sheets with England’s proper young women.
 
As the secret author of racy romances, Lady Esme Hawkins goes to great lengths to protect her family’s honor. Which is why she carefully disguises herself before entering a notorious bordello to do research. But when Esme comes face-to-face with a brooding Highland bodyguard, she can’t easily refuse a harmless kiss . . . a kiss that inflames desires ripped from the pages of her novels. Acting on them, however, would risk revealing Esme’s identity—and the fact that she’s engaged to another man.
 
As a Highland Knight sworn to protect the crown, Camden McLeod never expected to follow his client into a bordello—nor could he anticipate meeting a bright, innocent lass with lush lips and eyes the color of the sea. Instantly, Cam knows he must possess her. But to do so, he’ll need to give up his rakish ways, embrace his role as heir to his despised father, and snuff out a deadly threat to his brothers in arms. By comparison, winning Esme away from her insipid fianc√© will be pure pleasure.
 
Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title
.

4.0 out of 5 stars good characters, tired storylineJuly 10, 2016
This review is from: Highland Awakening: A Highland Knights Novel (Kindle Edition)
*I received this book in exchange for an honest review*
I love the scots and this series. But it gets to be too long and too drawn out. I was a fan of the characters in this book. It's a great historical romance, and certainly a decent highland novel, though set in England, not Scotland. But the story line just got too repetitive. I found myself passing pages to get to the romantic parts.
Esme was cool, I loved that she didn't follow along with the normal "ton" heritage. She was different, an outsider. It was a good read, just, as a standalone, I wish I hadn't read the rest of the series.
Why no voting buttons? We don't let customers vote on their own reviews, so the voting buttons appear only when you look at reviews submitted by others.

No comments:

Post a Comment