Sunday, May 11, 2014

When A Pretty Woman Smiles

When A Pretty Woman Smiles by T.V. LoCicero

Hot-shot adman and womanizer Tony Rice is steamed. His high-powered Manhattan agency has bought into a dubious Time Magazine premise that Americans are yearning for the simple life and a return to small town values. So Tony and a cadre of staffers are sent on a secret mission to do six weeks of undercover research in a scientifically selected town in rural Iowa. Not exactly his dream assignment, but within his first few days in sleepy little Maddox, Tony has set about romancing both sexy Martina and lovely Laurel with a continuing series of wild lies. 

When he and his cohorts finally bring their data back to New York, the usually fickle Tony finds he’s fallen hard for one of those gals back in Iowa. But when he quits his job and returns to what he hopes will be open arms, Tony finds only rejection from a woman who says she will never abide his deceit. So now what? With his life in a shambles, and the woman he loves about to marry someone else, Tony must do nothing less than reconstruct himself and fix his flawed and broken heart. 

When A Pretty Woman SmilesWhen A Pretty Woman Smiles by T.V. LoCicero
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a really decent romance. It's sweet, endearing and thoughtful. I think it's well played out, but at times, it did get boring. I enjoyed seeing Tony create his stories, but at the same time, there's so much of it, that it dragged the story down for me. Either way, this is one of those feel good romances, that feels more realistic than played up and dratized. It worked and was a delightful read.

View all my reviews

T.V. LoCicero has been writing both fiction and non-fiction across five decades. He's the author of the true crime books Murder in the Synagogue (Prentice-Hall), on the assassination of Rabbi Morris Adler, and Squelched: The Suppression of Murder in the Synagogue. His novels include the romance When A Pretty Woman Smiles and the crime thrillers The Car Bomb and Admission of Guilt, the first two books in The detroit im dyin Trilogy, and The Obsession and The Disappearance, the first two in The Truth Beauty Trilogy. Eight of his shorter works are now available as ebooks. These are among the stories and essays he has published in various periodicals, including Commentary, Ms. and The University Review, and in the hard-cover collections Best Magazine Articles, The Norton Reader and The Third Coast.



No comments:

Post a Comment